Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 09:20:50 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingneed feedback about writing
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: need feedback about writing  (Read 878 times)
barta
Level 0

View Profile
« on: December 14, 2018, 01:41:21 PM »

ok maybe this is the correct section to post this.
i made a visual novel, but my native language is italian, so i have some doubts about the translation i made. i'd like for everything to look fine for the update i'm working on.
have a look at these:

I worked as a clerk in a drapery in town, but the owner wasn't happy with me, he said I had too many women on my mind. How is it my fault, if I'm a nice bloke?
(would 'used to say' fit better?)

I was having a drink with some friends at the Triton, when I heard Duvivier telling jokes about the widow Clissonet. I started fighting fire with fire, and big words started flying around. We didn't punch each other, but just because we both tippled too much.
('making fun of' instead of 'telling jokes'?)

Thaumaturge
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2018, 10:58:44 AM »

Huh. You know, I've just realised that while we have sub-forums for visual arts, audio, and game-design, we don't have one for writing. That is odd. o_0

As to your questions:

I'm not sure about "he said"--I think that it's okay as you've written it, but I'm not quite confident.

As to "telling jokes", unless the Widow Clissonet is present and the direct target of the jokes, I think that it's fine as it is. "Making fun of" works too, especially if the person doing it is mocking the widow in ways other than joke-telling. Depending on your context, either could be fine here, I believe.