Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411478 Posts in 69369 Topics- by 58424 Members - Latest Member: FlyingFreeStudios

April 23, 2024, 05:57:24 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignPrototyping Metroidvanias
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Prototyping Metroidvanias  (Read 1709 times)
sherjilozair
Level 0

View Profile
« on: December 22, 2018, 10:34:45 PM »

A common advice to new game developers is to implement only the core mechanic of the game, and make sure that it's fun before implementing anything else. While I have no game design experience, this sounds like good advice. However, I'm not sure how to use such an advice if I wanted to make a metroidvania. What I like most about metroidvanias are the world exploration, world interconnectedness, and different art styles of each world, as exemplified in hollow knight and environmental station alpha. But it seems that one can't really do a quick prototype of these ideas, without creating the full map and all the areas.

I know I could implement the powerups and make sure that they are fun, but I think powerups are just a tool to wall off areas, and the real magic in metroidvanias is exploration.

What do folks think about how best to prototype metroidvanias?
Thaumaturge
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2018, 09:26:41 AM »

Hmm... I suppose that I have two answers to that, myself:

First, I'm not convinced that the advice that you mentioned is universally applicable. While it's probably not a bad idea for many types of game, I don't think that it's quite as absolute it might seem.