Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411511 Posts in 69375 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 02:10:50 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook) Why use frame-independent movement if your timestep is already fixed?
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Why use frame-independent movement if your timestep is already fixed?  (Read 3980 times)
pixeltao
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: January 13, 2019, 01:30:27 PM »

I'm a self taught programmer and I've got no formal education in maths or programming, so I might lack some notions to understand this.

However, I've been making games for years and yet I don't fully understand why you'd use frame-independent movement if your timesteps (game logic loop) are already fixed.

So far, I've always been using fixed timestep (at 60 fps) + frame-dependent movement and these are the pros and cons in my opinion:

Pros:
  • The movement maths are simple
  • I've always found pixel per step/frame to be more intuitive than pixels per seconds (especially when accelerations are involved)
  • If the game slows down, your physics don't explodes, it only slows down
  • You don't have to worry about your game running too fast/slow on some machine because timesteps are fixed

Cons:
  • If you decide to change the fps of your game to something else (from 60 to 30 for example), you have to rewrite your movement code.

And from what understand about using fixed timestep (at 60 fps) + frame-independent movement, the pros and cons would be:

Pros:
  • You can easily change the frame-rate of your game without re-writing any code
  • Pixels per second can work better with some game engines that are time based
  • Movement always look constant (creates skipping instead of slowdowns)

Cons:
  • Your movement maths are more complex