Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411411 Posts in 69360 Topics- by 58415 Members - Latest Member: sophi_26

April 15, 2024, 08:58:53 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessProject scope and non-original visual asset: criticism we never considered.
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Project scope and non-original visual asset: criticism we never considered.  (Read 805 times)
ChrisMangione
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: March 06, 2019, 09:23:37 AM »

(sorry for bad english)

Hello! This is my first post. I'm a programmer and with a friend we founded an indie not-yet-real-studio. Our first game dev is going great but during the last year something came up. And we need ad advice.

Question: Is such a crime to use a (non-game born) graphic assets bought from a stock site as main environmental art in a commercial project the scope of which is definitely increased since we started?

Facts: Three years ago we started a simple narrative-driven game project. As I said we're a programmer and a writer (english mother tongue, don't worry lol). No artist. One day my buddy stumbles on this really (non-game oriented) cool graphic asset on a stock site. It was PERFECT for mood, tone etc. Really beautiful and elegant. Done: we bought it. Since then this asset was our main environmental art.

But since then our project unexpectedly grows. We got some attention by the press and our little Kickstarter was OK so we hire one artist for the characters and other graphics, one musician for an original soundtrack, actors for some voiceover etc.

More attention = someone noticed that we used a graphic asset as main environmental art. And here came te problem.