Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411500 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 01:13:24 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsShattershield - Student Devlog
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Shattershield - Student Devlog  (Read 1441 times)
AsifDev
Level 0

View Profile
« on: March 11, 2019, 11:15:39 PM »

Hey there! I'm fairly inexperienced with writing these things, but I'd like to start a devlog anyways for my solo project, Shattershield.

In any case, I'm still learning. My devlogs will all be located at https://shattershieldgame.wordpress.com/blog/, but I'll do my best to post any new ones here.

Shattershield will be an over the shoulder POV 2D hack and slash (think "Punch Out!!" but with swords and magic), and is for the last solo project I'll ever probably do for this course - it's the last Studio Unit, and the only production unit other than this is the final production (which is over two entire trimesters! (that's like a semester except for a third of a year instead of a half).

to summarise -and fill any gaps left by the website- so far, all I really have to show is code - I'm not even in the prototyping phase of development - and some branding symbols and basic concepts. Some of the people I've gotten from other places in the college (Aus college so it's basically just a small university), have done some concept art, but not really any of the in-game art as of yet. Enjoy these extra Concept art-ing for the very first enemy - the Goblin:

This first image by Sapphire is more along the lines of concept art, and is less indicative of how it'll look in the game, but was helpful to the design process nonetheless.

This second one by Sean, however, is far, far, far more indicative of the target artstyle the game will contain, I really like this pixel goblin.