Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411428 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 01:21:03 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralAnyone run small, local meetups?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Anyone run small, local meetups?  (Read 1122 times)
geraldfingburke
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: March 24, 2019, 05:35:47 AM »

I've been running a small local meetup for a couple of years now. Most of the time the best we can do, no matter how hard we push, is about 5 or 6 regulars. This is a college town, we have three universities within thirty miles, two of them offer game development programs. It seems like there's a ton of interest, but our attendance rate is stagnant. Our group is pretty active. We run bi-weekly meetups like clockwork, we hit all of the local and regional cons, and we run game jams every few months(usually Ludum Dare). In a region with a population of roughly half a million, I could believe that maybe the 10 or so active devs we've worked with are the only 10, were it not for the fact that just about every week I hear somebody talk about making games or wanting to make games.

I feel like I've hit a wall with what I can do, and I'm not really sure what else to do to push numbers. That said, I love the little community we do have. Every person besides my wife that I speak to daily, I met through the meetup.

Has anyone here had similar/better/worse experiences with running a dev meetup? Am I maybe missing something huge and obvious?
Cobralad
Cowardly Baby
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2019, 05:50:41 AM »

1) you may be an insufferably mediocre person who can only breed awkward silence
2) earth is dying fuck videogames