Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411500 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 11:51:19 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignWhat gamewriting tools / techniques do you use?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: What gamewriting tools / techniques do you use?  (Read 1518 times)
jamesmh
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: June 19, 2019, 06:16:55 PM »

Hey everyone, my first post because I’m curious about the tools that other game developers and writers use to make their stories.  Hand Pencil

I currently work as a writer in an Australian game studio. I have a background in writing and developing stories for Films and TV but I’ve found the switch to game writing to be challenging and increasingly time consuming. We have been experimenting with different models and techniques for writing outside the writer’s room pen and paper stuff, particularly different ways of visualising or modelling stories, potential character arcs etc. I was wondering if anyone has used any software or tools they recommend?
fluffrabbit
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2019, 06:47:41 PM »

I feel your pain and more. I went to film school and left with a trilogy of unproduced sci-fi feature scripts. Since that didn't work, I tried going rogue and doing more of a Korine/Herzog style postmodernist thing. That approach ended in various disasters. I also tried game writing at one point and the guy kicked me off the team because I put in too much stuff about hanky-panky. All the while I used Trelby to write the scripts. I've never found the occasion to use branching story software.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2019, 07:48:27 PM by fluffrabbit » Logged
Rarykos
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2019, 12:59:30 AM »

Scrivener and Twine to be honest!
Still, nothing beats pen and papers for the beginning.