Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1366183 Posts in 64017 Topics- by 55902 Members - Latest Member: BlueSoft Tech

September 18, 2019, 08:25:00 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralhelp with make new game
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: help with make new game  (Read 255 times)
leewansoo
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: July 31, 2019, 10:22:56 PM »

Hi everybody, I'm a new game developer, I'm studying at the university. I want to make game 3D models and realistic textures. And now, i need to buy a new laptop, but i don't know how much processing power I need to MAKE one. Main reason is my budget doesn't have too much. Can you give me some suggestions?
fluffrabbit
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2019, 12:51:56 AM »

Blender 2.8 apparently does not support all systems that are GL 3.3 compliant, only "new" ones without all of the driver bugs that plague the computers of the last few years. That said, you should be able to get by on a cheap netbook as long as you buy it new.

ThemsAllTook
Global Moderator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2019, 08:20:07 AM »

You can make a game on basically any computer. Using something old for development can be a good thing, as it helps keep your system requirement expectations down. Unless your game design is somehow in the tiny niche that actually makes use of cutting edge processing power, you'll be totally fine with anything from the last 10 years or so.

fluffrabbit
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2019, 08:38:00 AM »

Yeah, but he says he wants to make 3D models and realistic textures. Blender 2.8 is the go-to PBR authoring program, so even if the specs of the target system are lower, Blender will require new hardware. 2.79 should work fine, but it doesn't have PBR, so "realistic" goes out the window.