Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 04:13:43 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralGetting into video game development.
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Getting into video game development.  (Read 1724 times)
thisisakki
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: August 29, 2019, 01:51:03 AM »

Hello everyone,
i stumbled on this forum while learning about video game development and tbh to download free sprites.
i've been using construct 2 and learning my way on the pure basics as i am very new to this.
i was hoping that i could get some good advice here on were to look for study material and assets to make games.
any kind of suggestion is appreciated as i will only learn new things so please go ahead and bestow some wisdom on this lad.
fluffrabbit
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2019, 02:48:16 AM »

There are plenty of free sprites at opengameart.org.

I would recommend avoiding Construct at all costs. Even GameMaker, which is terrible, provides greater flexibility. If you have programming experience outside of games, it might be useful to try to make a game in the language you know. Eventually you should learn C or something similar and use that.
Cobralad
Cowardly Baby
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2019, 03:00:12 AM »

Eventually you should learn C or something similar and use that.
have you ever made a complete videogame
ProgramGamer
Administrator
Level 10

aka Mireille

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2019, 03:56:54 AM »

Sorry thisisakki, discussions like these often turn into arguments about what tools are the best/worst, hence the jab at C above. Gentlemen, let's not let this thread turn into that please.