Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 03:42:22 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralabout programming
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: about programming  (Read 1140 times)
zoidganesh
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 12, 2019, 07:35:16 PM »

I just wanted to ask on here since I don't know any other programmers. I am still very new to this, only been programming for about 8 months primarily on python. As I've been learning I can understand everything on its own, I Know how the individual functions all work and can make simple codes; but when I try and use them to make a larger piece it's like my brain doesn't understand them and how they go together. So my question is: how long did it take you all in order to see how all the code comes together? I really enjoy learning programming and all that comes with it but I do kind of feel hopeless.
DireLogomachist
Level 4

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2019, 10:26:00 PM »

Honestly it takes your whole life...

As a software engineer, being able to hold the whole of a thing in your mind a skill you learn over years.
And even then, it's all compartmentalized and organized to make that easier

That module is the engine, that there is AI, that's graphics, etc.

Good organization of your scripts, functions, and everything else is really the backbone of good programming.

Living and dying by Hanlon's Razor
ThemsAllTook
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2019, 04:00:33 AM »