Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411470 Posts in 69369 Topics- by 58423 Members - Latest Member: antkind

April 23, 2024, 09:03:02 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallMendelian Fields
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Mendelian Fields  (Read 429 times)
ghostofpunk
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 17, 2019, 04:39:28 PM »

Hello all!

I am new to game development and to TIGForums, but I am excited to learn more!
This is my first solid game idea. It is about plant biology and punnett square-type stuff.
My game idea is pretty simple (although I'm sure it won't be simple to make). The concept is a bit like Stardew Valley and a bit like Dwarf Fortress, and mostly similar to Gregor Mendel's experiments with pea plants.

I imagine a ASCII-style game (like Dwarf Fortress and Brogue) where the player looks at different plants in a field. Each plant will have certain characteristics that are described, and the player can choose to harvest different parts of the plant and replant certain parts of the plant as well. Depending on which traits of plants the player chooses to plant as well as hidden recessive traits (the player will only know the phenotype of plants, not the genotype) and rare mutations, the field will eventually end up with plants that are totally different.

I want to start out with real plants, preferably ones that are native (I live in New Jersey, but I would love to make versions for different areas). Then, I want the gene-based descriptions to be computer-generated, and eventually result in plants that aren't real. I also want to give players the option to rename plants/name new plants.