Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411276 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 11:06:29 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsThe Tribute of Legends (Coop #NotZelda)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: The Tribute of Legends (Coop #NotZelda)  (Read 4863 times)
Daid
Level 3

View Profile
« on: September 21, 2019, 12:23:09 PM »

So, I saw the #NotZelda tiles and sprites from our very own tigsource member xix (also known LunarSignals)

And I just have to make a zelda game from it. Now, I'm just a hobby game developer, mainly just programming, working in my few free hours in the evening that I have from time to time. But working with this art is proving to be really nice, as the quality is good and it's actually quite a complete set.

Now, my first goal will be to have the "classic" adventure mode, which will be close to the original first Zelda game. But with a bunch of tweaks here and there.

Also, because just another zelda clone would be just another zelda clone. And, there is already a bunch of those. I set myself a hopefully unique goal. I want coop play. Local coop and network play. And not just "2 players need to be on the same screen", no, everyone is free to roam around the map as they want, and as many players as you would want.
This gives all kinds of interesting issues to solve, like what to do with important key items that you can find. But that will come when I get there. First I need to get the basics to work.

I'm using my self created game engine. So lots of code from scratch. I've made a multiplayer game before, so I am not in completely unknown waters.

Now, back to the art. The art from xix is great. It also includes an example map from the first zelda game. Which is awesome, as I'm not that good in map creation. However, there where a few issues with this map: