Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 03:15:35 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsJobsCollaborationsEngine project looking for collaborators
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Engine project looking for collaborators  (Read 1622 times)
lostastronaut
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 26, 2019, 09:33:00 AM »

Hi,
I'm a professional software developer and a graphics enthusiast.  Earlier this year I left Smith Micro as the lead developer of Poser 3D Character Animation Software.  This famous piece of software had its heyday in the mid-90s, and is responsible for a lot of the technologies behind content that made it into console gaming in the 2003 era.  I also released a game engine and ran a series of tutorials for it called Pixitron that outlines an approach to multiplayer game making on the web. https://lmgtfy.com/?q=pixitron

This other engine, a 12-year epic, is largely ground up but yes it does rely on WinAPI, OpenAL and some other optional libraries, but most of the code is essentially "from scratch"

Anyway, now that I've moved on from my job at Smith Micro, it's back to moonlighting as Lost Astronaut (lostastronaut.com) ... I picked up my old game engine a few weeks ago and decided I needed to take things in a new direction.  However, I've spent 12 years on it and for a long time I held on to it with white-knuckle strength.
For the 10th time over the past few years, a few hours ago I thought about releasing the 12-year-old project as open source.