Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411501 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 02:52:58 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioI need some music ideas for my game
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: I need some music ideas for my game  (Read 2915 times)
FGG
Level 0

Programmer

View Profile WWW
« on: November 28, 2019, 12:02:41 PM »

Hi there. I'm a small developer currently making a video game for the Nintendo Switch. It's a wrestling rpg. You might have saw it about a year or so ago on journalist sites. I am currently developing the demo, but there's one thing I have yet to touch on, which is crucial for rpgs: music. I have no idea what kind of music I want to do for this. At first it was like rock n roll, then heavy metal; but then I thought maybe classic rpg music will work instead, despite the setting being modern and action based. Something unique but not too out there, either. I am having trouble getting a read on what I want, so I wanted to see if the creative minds here could maybe help me out with some music samples, examples, or "feel" when you see my game. The game is influenced by Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy, and a little of Paper Mario. Thank you.

Here's a link to the webpage: Wrestling RPG
Voltz.Supreme
Level 3

Iron Synth Chef & Voltage Architect

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2019, 05:01:39 AM »

Oh man! Suplex Saga looks unreal!
I'd definitely be going for traditional jrpg music as a foundation but I'd give it flavours of retro-modern sounds/genres rather than fantasy. So as an example, less traditional instruments/samples and more 80s synths, electronic beats and maybe even a little Streets of Rage influence? Plenty of hype when needed and a little humour would go well I imagine.