Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 06:12:37 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignExperienced Programmer But Where To Start?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Experienced Programmer But Where To Start?  (Read 2276 times)
Topogram
Level 0

View Profile
« on: March 06, 2020, 11:49:11 PM »

Hi,

I'm an experienced programmer (medical imaging, simulation software, etc) but have never made a game. I have a game idea in my head that I've wanted to make for years and I've finally decided to use my free time to work on it. The game is a Space Empires IV / Galactic Civ type game (i.e: turn-based 4X).

I'm not interested in which game engine to use - that doesn't matter. What I need help with is physically where to start? The game is loosely formed in my head but as a complex project I'm not sure where to begin.

Should I start with the title screen? Should I sketch out every screen on pencil and paper first? Shall I do the artwork? Should I sit and write the interesting logic to randomise the location of star systems in the galaxy?

I'm looking for advice from experienced game developers as to where a sensible starting place might be.
ThemsAllTook
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2020, 07:26:49 AM »