Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411511 Posts in 69375 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 02:24:55 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)New Pixel Artist Practice
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: New Pixel Artist Practice  (Read 5117 times)
teapoted
Level 0

View Profile
« on: April 14, 2020, 10:45:59 AM »

Hi All,

I'm a programmer by trade and have for a long time been wanting to get into game development but have always found my artistic abilities putting me off wanting to get into it. So with all the added time at home I decided to start doing some daily pixel art practice and see where it gets me.

I'm posting here because I wanted to have some feedback but also ideally a place I can look back over time and see where I've gotten to. (plus maybe motivating me to continue if I ever feel the urge to stop) So my plan was to post an update every couple of days with whatever I have been doing as long as that's okay within the rules of the forum. (If not I would appreciate being pointed in a direction where it may be as I've struggled)

Day 1:

I did a couple of variations on an old computer and then some tiny icon type interior objects. The only thing I really liked in this set is the top right one and it's probably a big reason why I decided to continue to the next day where I got much more excited about doing this.

Day 2:

I had been watching "Brandon James Greer" on youtube and wanted to do something from a similar perspective as he had a lot of street scenes which I really liked. I think this is the style which currently appeals the most to me and probably the one which I would be most likely to pursue for making a game in.