Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411421 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: timothy feriandy

April 18, 2024, 03:51:03 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsMorterra - 3D Multiplayer Browser Survival
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Morterra - 3D Multiplayer Browser Survival  (Read 2470 times)
Morterra
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: April 28, 2020, 06:56:45 PM »

Morterra DevLog
Hey everyone!

I've been working on Morterra for many years now, and have always wanted to share it, so here goes!

I thought of the idea for Morterra between 2005-2010. The idea started off as a world with no rules, where players could fight freely. I originally liked this idea because I had played the game Runescape, and frequently PVPed in the wilderness - an area where you could fight other players, and the winner gets the other player's loot. I loved this concept, but I had always wished the entire world was the wilderness, to make every single action exciting. Eventually I started playing games like Age of Empires and then later Minecraft, and loved the idea of being able to build freely and building defenses to protect yourself.

I also really loved how Runescape and Minecraft were originally available to play on the browser. I thought that games should be played on the browser, since it allows anyone to play from anywhere. So I spent a lot of time learning how to program in order to start building this game.

I couldn't say the exact date when I started developing Morterra, but here's the earliest screenshot I could find:

The screenshot is dated November 13, 2011. I was working on a Java based 2D application that I would eventually upload as an applet to a website. I was making the mouse movement rotate the image, and arrow keys change the position of the image.