Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 03:39:05 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignWhat makes a text-based RPG combat appealing?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: What makes a text-based RPG combat appealing?  (Read 2563 times)
bugboss
Level 0

View Profile
« on: June 30, 2020, 10:54:11 AM »

Hey everyone! I'm a newbie Indie Dev who's toying with the idea of making a short text-based RPG game with some minor visual elements such as maps, character avatar, itens icons and finally: combat.

For combat I've been really stuck in what approach I should follow in order to get players interested and as close as possible to the edge of their seats when a combat event happens instead of going like "Oh... not another combat, please!". Yes, yes, I know a game based on text isn't as appealing as a fully 3D action Skyrim-like, but hey it'll be a game developed by a single person so I have to keep things achievable  Tongue

In your opinion, how could a combat in a text-based game be perceived less like a bothering chore and something more like the player could actually enjoy and look forward to when such event happen? Everything is welcomed, from visual aspects to dynamics and combat systems suitable for the genre.

If possible I'd greatly appreciate if in case you're using a combat system from an existing game as reference if you could name the game title.

I thank you all in advance!  Coffee
Thaumaturge
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2020, 09:44:20 AM »

One possibility might be to make each combat a sort of choice-based puzzle: