Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1380207 Posts in 65795 Topics- by 58187 Members - Latest Member: rarbgproxys

August 05, 2020, 05:28:07 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsEX-SANGUIS a dark, art-heavy metroidvania
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: EX-SANGUIS a dark, art-heavy metroidvania  (Read 247 times)
NoahW
Level 0

artist

View Profile
« on: July 30, 2020, 05:42:36 AM »

Howdy dudes! I'm a solo artist/novice programmer here to share progress/get feedback on a metroidvania-esque game I recently started working on. (about a week)

The working title is ex-sanguis, and besides the obvious focuses on action and platforming I want the game to focus greatly on environmental storytelling, interaction, and atmosphere.

The solution I've settled on involves environmental cues (both to draw attention to interactive objects, and create atmosphere) and detailed item/object portraits that are interactive and have some level of animation.

disclaimer: much if not all of the artwork and animations will be heavily refined from the original in the vid.

I've abandoned more game projects than I care to remember, and the reasoning each time is hard to explain... If you've ever taken on a creative project of any kind, you likely understand the feeling you get when you just stop caring about it, you get to a proof of concept point and you just don't care to continue. I've grown to understand that it means I was just going in the wrong direction, visually, conceptually, or thematically, it just wasn't what I was looking for in a project because it wasn't creatively gratifying anymore.