Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411411 Posts in 69360 Topics- by 58415 Members - Latest Member: sophi_26

April 15, 2024, 08:24:47 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingPoker Quest - a web-based, poker-themed roguelike (2 years in development)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Poker Quest - a web-based, poker-themed roguelike (2 years in development)  (Read 5935 times)
Fragsworth
Level 0

View Profile
« on: July 31, 2020, 11:39:53 AM »

Hi all!

This is my first time posting to this community. I'm posting about Poker Quest. I'm one of the developers of Clicker Heroes (an incremental game), and I have decided to COMPLETELY change course and make a hardcore, perma-death roguelike. Poker Quest is available to play here: https://playsaurus.com/PokerQuest.html

You traverse a high-fantasy landscape, while fighting monsters using a hand of playing cards (Ace, King, Queen, etc.) to activate your items. You draw cards from the same deck as the enemy, and they use their cards against you.

Poker Quest is written in Haxe, and is compiled to HTML5. I recommend using Chrome or IE. It works in other browsers but you may encounter some issues. Firefox has more trouble than the rest.

It's getting close to being complete in terms of features and balance, the art and UI will take a while to finish, and I want to add a LOT of new heroes at some point.

I would love to hear the community's feedback, particularly about the first-time experience (tutorial), game balance, any usability issues, and any bugs.

- Fragsworth
« Last Edit: July 31, 2020, 12:14:28 PM by Fragsworth » Logged
jbarrios
Level 4

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2020, 06:32:31 AM »

Hi Fragsworth,

I played your game and recorded my thoughts:

Fragsworth
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2020, 08:11:06 AM »