Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411489 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 03:31:30 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignStarting a weekly newsletter focused on game design and development, would love
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Starting a weekly newsletter focused on game design and development, would love  (Read 2092 times)
JakeBRG
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 04, 2020, 09:16:30 AM »

.. would love feedback and criticism if you have any or if you think it's stupid let me know!

I have been doing game development for about 10 years now and before going full time into game development I was an electrical engineer for about 10 years. I made the jump full time to focus on game design and development 3 years ago (so those 10 year timeframes overlapped, but it was a night and weekend thing with a few releases on XBLIG until I could save up enough to go full time), and am trying to contribute to the industry in a meaningful way!

https://www.bigrookgames.com/2020/09/04/your-friday-gamedev-digest-the-power-of-anticipation-in-game-design-using-kleenex-testers/
linebyline
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2020, 06:12:54 AM »

That was an interesting read. I'll go ahead and add your blog to my RSS reader. Looking forward to reading more!

I'm primarily working with C++ and SDL to make 2D games, so the Unity stuff doesn't really apply to me, but as popular as Unity is, there's no question that a lot of people will be able to get use out of it. I'll certainly be glad to have a resource to come back to if I do decide to start using Unity.

In the mean time, there's plenty of stuff that is already useful, or just plain interesting.
sbroome
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2020, 09:44:32 AM »