Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 05:01:41 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)How do you create, record and edit your dev log videos?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How do you create, record and edit your dev log videos?  (Read 9349 times)
vivaladav
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: January 25, 2021, 07:25:37 AM »

I started to make dev log videos for my game a couple of months ago, so I am pretty new at this and I am still trying to find the best way to do it.

Initially I tried to record myself while talking freely with no script, but that was a disaster as the result was a long, boring video full of pauses and mumbling and even my best editing couldn't save it.

Then I realized I needed a script, but recording while reading sounded a bit "fake" and that also introduced the problem of synchronizing the audio with what I wanted to show. I had to play the game AFTER recording the audio and that isn't easy!

Now I think I am getting a bit better at it and my process is something like this:
  • write an initial script and divide it in small sections
  • read it out loud few times until everything sounds smooth enough (edit where needed)
  • record the audio one section at a time
  • record the game while listening to the audio I just recorder for better sync
  • repeat for all the small sections
  • Edit everything together in a video editor (I use KDenlive)

I would love to know what's your process for recording dev videos and what are your tips.

Creating "Virtueror, the virtual conqueror" (RTS + 4x + RPG)

[Wishlist on Steam]
[TIGS devlog][YouTube devlog][website]
ThemsAllTook
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2021, 08:19:43 AM »