Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 20, 2024, 12:38:49 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingDEFI - an educational game about electric fields
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: DEFI - an educational game about electric fields  (Read 1828 times)
Eliron
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: February 01, 2021, 05:26:21 PM »

Hi I am a student, and a peer and I are creating an educational game to teach people how electric fields work!
the goal of our game is to push a point charge to the finish line by creating an electric field and force in that direction.
We created a physics engine in the backend of the game so it works similarly to how real electric fields work.
The main purpose of this game is education through games especially targeted at current students so education comes first and entertainment second.
Currently the game is in browser with the goal of moving to a mobile setting at some point
Thanks for giving our game a try!
You can access the game at the link below
https://icphysweb.z13.web.core.windows.net/site/game.html
Here is a picture of the building your electric field

dylandummy
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2021, 06:18:23 PM »

Negatives:
1. It was not easy for me to learn the controls. Consider making that more clear.
2. The buttons and UI don't have any feedback, which detracts from the experience. Make the buttons wobble or get bigger when you hover over them, maybe.
3. The screen gets very crowded at times which is not visually appealing.

Positives:
1. This might be the most important for you, but I definitely feel like I came away a bit smarter.
2. The gameplay is actually quite fun provided you play it for a few minutes and get the jist of it.