Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 03:14:23 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignGame Design And Hardware
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Game Design And Hardware  (Read 5606 times)
TommyD3
Level 0

View Profile
« on: February 05, 2021, 10:45:17 AM »

Hello everyone! I am a beginner at wanting to be a game designer. Is an off the shelf computer good for this route? Or do I need to use something more powerful to use with any programs like Unity and Blender? Also, what would be a good program for notes and presentations? In other words, what do I need to do this line of work in the production pipeline? Thank you!
TonyLi
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2021, 02:04:40 PM »

Hi!

Don't let hardware stop you. You're not going to be pushing the limits of AAA photorealism with your first efforts. Jump in with whatever computer you have available, start learning, and have fun! As you learn more, you'll develop a better idea of what you yourself need to make your game ideas.
TommyD3
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2021, 02:38:54 PM »

Noted and thank you for the advice! Would you recommend any programs that could help in a designers workflow (like Coral draw and Adobe anything)? Or just basics that come with a computer?
raigan
Level 5

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2021, 03:25:59 PM »

If you're just getting started, Unity/Blender might be too much. (Then again maybe not!)

Some other fun game-making tools to check out:
https://www.construct.net/en
https://www.lexaloffle.com/pico-8.php
https://www.yoyogames.com/gamemaker

Pico-8 is especially fun for prototyping designs because making the graphics/sounds is integrated into the tool. Smiley
TommyD3
Level 0

View Profile