Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411501 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 03:01:52 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsBreachway - Space combat card game inspired by FTL and Slay the Spire
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Breachway - Space combat card game inspired by FTL and Slay the Spire  (Read 3056 times)
Riv_
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: February 10, 2021, 01:50:13 AM »

Hi,

I'm a game designer and 3d Artist , part of a two-man dev team working on a dynamic , tactical card game focused on representing plausible if-not-realistic ship-to-ship combat in space. (as realistic as a card game about spaceships can be)

What started out as a small project to pass the time turned into something that's become pretty special (well... to us anyway) and that we want to start working on full-time soon, cause we're pretty excited about the way it's shaping up

Design wise, the game combines modular systems-based ship customization, with deep tactical card game mechanics... basically we want to make FTL meets Slay the Spire, two very elegantly designed games, that as a designer I can only stare at in awe, and hope we can make something at least 20% as good.

Visually we try to approach the game in a semi-realistic fashion, The Expanse series has been a big inspiration there

Our core design pillars:

Tactical decision making. Command a battleship engaged in combat with varied enemy vessels. Raise shields, fire Lasers, unleash Missile salvos, hack enemy systems, build a drone fleet, create weaponized micro black holes, or immobilize and board enemy ships

Modular design. Mix and match pieces of Equipment and Subsystems to uncover varied synergies and interactions between them. Your loadout determines your deck of cards, and how you interact with it