Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 09:04:45 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopNeed some help figuring out if I'm improve my sprite (concept)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Need some help figuring out if I'm improve my sprite (concept)  (Read 6133 times)
bram_dingelstad
Level 0

Always up for a chat!

View Profile WWW
« on: February 21, 2021, 09:18:43 AM »

Hey guys, so first off: I'm a programmer first and everything else in gamedev second, so keep that in mind as we proceed Smiley

Now, my question: I'm working on a small roguelike on PICO8, which inherently brings some limitations on sprites as the canvas is only 128x128 and it has a limited pallete. Making a character sprite that's nice to look at and can express a range of things is preferable.

The one on the left is my old sprite, with a lot of room for facial expression.
The one on the right is my new sprite, which I thought is prettier and is more pleasant to look at.

I'm gonna probably programmatically animate/draw the new sprite's hair to enable some more dynamic hair interaction, so don't take this as it's final shape.

My questions are:

Is this a worthwhile improvement?
Is there something I'm missing, is the first sprite better?
Are there some general improvements I can do on the second sprite?

Let me know, and be nice. thx! Smiley

If you'd like to see something of my work check out:
The devlogs of the game I'm working on - My website/blog - My itch.io
Thaumaturge
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2021, 02:03:48 AM »

Without seeing the rest of your aesthetic, it's hard to say which of the two is better, I feel.

I do feel like I like the form of the right-hand sprite a little more, as a matter of personal preference, for what it's worth.