Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411521 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 05:44:54 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Addison Campus of DeVry Doesn't Offer An Art Side To Gaming
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Addison Campus of DeVry Doesn't Offer An Art Side To Gaming  (Read 2019 times)
Mawy_Golomb
Level 0

View Profile
« on: July 11, 2009, 03:24:15 PM »

Hello, everyone. I'm new to TIGsource.com's forums, and I have yet to start going to college. But my plan is to go into Game Design, and my dream has been to get a degree in it, along with an MBA for Entrepreneurship, in order to possibly work on my games by myself.

Before, one of my advisors at DeVry told me that everything in Game Design is offered at the Addison Campus, but just yesterday, after signing up to register for Session B, which starts on August 31st, I found out that everything but the art aspects of it are offered there. If I ever want to be an indie game developer, and work on low-budget or no-budget games alone, I also would need to understand the art side of gaming as well. I still feel that I will end up taking roles as a game designer, producer, and programmer in the future, though.

Could anyone please give me any advice as to what I should do?
Problem Machine
Level 8

It's Not a Disaster

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2009, 05:08:16 PM »

Enroll in a figure drawing and a basic design class at a community/jr college. Only a few classes are necessary to orient yourself art-wise, other than that it's all practice.

Mawy_Golomb
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2009, 07:28:12 PM »