Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411420 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: timothy feriandy

April 17, 2024, 11:21:04 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsAgainst The Mountain - 1st Person Exploration/Platformer
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 12
Print
Author Topic: Against The Mountain - 1st Person Exploration/Platformer  (Read 18288 times)
baftis
Level 1

View Profile
« on: August 15, 2021, 03:06:29 PM »

Hello, all. First time posting here. I am a game designer/level designer and I've wanted to do my own game by myself for quite awhile. I've tried multiple times, but every time I've started a project, I got too ambitious and along the way I've abandoned all projects because of sheer scope.  But no more. This project I am determined to finish.

DAY 1

Today I present you Against The Mountain: a first person adventure/platformer. Or keeping it real, a walking simulator with a platformer component...and maybe a dungeon.

You start the game in a valley and your goal is to reach the mountain top. While traversing the valley and climbing the mountain, you will encounter various obstacle courses ("areas") that puts your orientation skills and your timing skills to the test.

Since I've just started the project, I do not have very "interesting" stuff to show, but I do have some screenshots. Here is one.

"See that big object in the distance? That's where you need to go": The Game

Do not be fooled by the perspective of the above screenshot, it is a long way to the mountain. An early test showed that from the spawn point to the base of the mountain will take you about 10min:30sec.