Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411505 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 07:34:07 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralhow do I use OpenGl and stuff
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: how do I use OpenGl and stuff  (Read 2721 times)
NilGAYman
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 07, 2021, 08:59:21 AM »

Hello
Im a new game developer and Ive been looking for ways to create my own game engine, cause yes. And ive been wondering if OpenGL is a good api and also how do I use it/download it. Thank you!

ps.
Im a new member so when I was creating my account I received an email from a @flashbang.biz email account to activate my accont, is this an official tigsource email?
ThemsAllTook
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2021, 09:11:51 AM »

Welcome!

I'd say OpenGL is a pretty good choice. Recently, there have been some APIs that aim to supersede it (Vulkan on non-Apple platforms, Metal in the Apple world), but I don't think OpenGL will be going away any time soon. learnopengl.com is a fantastic learning resource that goes over everything you should need to know.

ps.
Im a new member so when I was creating my account I received an email from a @flashbang.biz email account to activate my accont, is this an official tigsource email?

Now this is interesting. TIGSource is physically hosted by Matthew Wegner, who used to run Flashbang Studios, which seems now to redirect to flashbang.biz, which seems to be something unrelated... I'm guessing at some point the domain name was purchased and set up to redirect. The back-end administration and hosting of this site is a complicated situation, so it looks like this was something that slipped through the cracks.

NilGAYman
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2021, 09:17:02 AM »