Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411275 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 05:07:16 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsOmega Gateway - 4x Sci Fi game inspired in Master of Orion 2 and Star Trek: BOFT
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Omega Gateway - 4x Sci Fi game inspired in Master of Orion 2 and Star Trek: BOFT  (Read 753 times)
Kanyenke
Level 0

Emiliano Dev

View Profile WWW
« on: October 02, 2021, 09:25:26 AM »

Ep 1 - Introduction and Grid Generation

Hello fellow galaxy seekers! My name is Emiliano, I’m a 34 year old developer originally from La Pampa, Argentina; but currently living in Amsterdam, Netherlands.

I have been doing some interesting yet unfinished game development projects in my free time since quite some time already, but this time I’d like to share my progress with the world with the idea of keeping myself motivated and in the meantime getting some feedback.

So, what are we trying to do next? I really like 4x games, and particularly I love sci-fi 4x games, like Stellaris, Sword of the Stars, Master of Orion 2, and one of my favorites and the most important inspiration for our prototype, Star Trek: Birth of the Federation.

That being said, we need to keep the scope in check; because I’m a solo dev, and although these amazing games have a lot of amazing mechanics, we have to start small and grow organically.

First I created an infinite canvas in Miro where I can brainstorm, capture and understand the features that I like the most about these 4x games, and also add my own mechanics that I think would be cool.