Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 05:02:09 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGamesHave video games been stagnating for the last two decades?
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Have video games been stagnating for the last two decades?  (Read 15512 times)
Lance of Longinus
Level 0

View Profile
« on: October 28, 2021, 03:31:11 PM »

To me it seems that the last time of significant gameplay innovations were the 90s and that video games have stagnated throughout the 21th century and the only innovations centered on increasing profits.

I only started playing video games in the early 2000s, but even at that time sequels seemed to only offer improved graphics at the cost of dumbed down gameplay and I tried to play older games whenever I could find them. I've played Ocarina of Time almost simultaneously with the Wind Waker (and finished Wind Waker before finishing OoT because I got stuck with finding the hookshot), yet WW felt mostly like a rehash of the same, but with less dungeons and an annoying fetch quest near the end (though I still liked Wind Waker a lot, especially compared to TP and SS). I've played Super Mario Sunshine only a few years after playing Super Mario 64 and while the water gun was innovative, the level design was very monotonous, with the majority of areas having the same setting and mostly similar gameplay, and less areas compared to SM64 (though Nintendo is in that regard not an ideal example as they are the only big game corporation that managed to innovate gameplay at all in the 21th century).