Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411522 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 09:43:07 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallFateless Night - a 2D action platformer with the combo-based rewards
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Fateless Night - a 2D action platformer with the combo-based rewards  (Read 1069 times)
ashpdewan
Level 0

Platformer Lover

View Profile
« on: November 05, 2023, 03:44:52 AM »

It's hard to believe that I've been developing this game for a seven years. And it's even harder to believe that I'm going to release it on Steam next week! But let's talk about everything in order.

First of all, here's the game trailer:

Now, you might wonder what the heck is the "combo-based rewards"? You see, if you defeat an enemy, there's a 30% chance they will drop a shard - the local currency. However, defeating enemies also fills the combo meter and the higher it is, the greater the chance of shard drops. At x7 shards drop with a 100% chance and at x9 (maximum combo) you will always get a double shards. In other words, if you play really good, take no damage and defeat enemies quite fast, the rewards will be much higher.

But wait, there's more! The highest combo achieved in each of the completed stages are summed up. And depending on the total sum you can unlock access to the extra-levels and extra-bosses if you wish to obtain some useful goodies. These goodies are called "amulets" and basically they works in the same way as the charms in Hollow Knight.

Yeah, I know. The previous two paragraphs sounds too dull and convoluted. I've regretted so many times coming up with such a confusing combo system, because explaining how it works every time is such a pain in the butt.