Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411469 Posts in 69368 Topics- by 58422 Members - Latest Member: daffodil_dev

April 23, 2024, 02:07:03 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeHow do you overcome obstacles in your path?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How do you overcome obstacles in your path?  (Read 2242 times)
InVogue
Level 0

one part the Führer, one part the Pope

View Profile
« on: August 15, 2009, 01:57:42 PM »

Kind of inspired by the obstacles thread, but sorry if this is in the wrong sub-forum  Durr...?

My general stance is to try and salvage a good idea and scale back as much as I can while still retaining the original spirit of what I wanted. Here's an example:

I graduated a game course this year, armed with C++ and OpenGL knowledge but no real portfolio pieces. I'm trying a couple of ideas out for my first real "go" at a full workable game, one is a basic breakout style arcade game that I'm putting on the back-burner for now, and another is a spaceship combat game that I plan to include some complicated damage mechanics in.

I was inspired by Star Trek: Wrath of Khan and the newer Star Trek Enterprise series and I noticed that combat damage to starships was something a lot of games glossed over or barely acknowledged. So I planned on making a game where the player ship has a reactor that can be targeted, relays and components that can blow out due to hits, components and cargo that can be stolen by boarding parties (or even beamed out if the shields drop!) and internal fires and radiation leaks that must be combatted.