Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 12:13:33 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralLinux/XP Dual-Boot?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Linux/XP Dual-Boot?  (Read 1795 times)
skaldicpoet9
Level 10

"The length of my life was fated long ago "

View Profile
« on: December 04, 2007, 01:54:19 PM »

Recently I rented a new computer and dual-booted Vista and Ubuntu on it. However, due to the fact that 1) Vista Sucks and 2) I am a poor college student, I have decided to return the computer and stick with my XP run laptop. Anyways, my question is: is there a small Linux environment that I could install on my laptop? I tried installing Ubuntu on it but admittedly I am not very Linux-literate so I couldn't figure out how to partition it without using the automatic partitioner (due tot the fact that I only have 23.6 GB left on my comp). I heard that Damn Small Linux is a good one for a small, streamlined OS solution but however, once again my ignorance has barred me from figuring out how to dual boot it on this laptop (if someone could help me with how to dual-boot this with Xp I would appreciate it greatly...). I am just really looking for something that is extremely basic, I don't really even want a GUI desktop or anything ,I am fine with just the console. Really, I am just looking for something that I can toy around with for awhile to get acquainted with Linux.

\\\\\\\"Fearlessness is better than a faint heart for any man who puts his nose out of doors. The date of my death and length of my life were fated long ago.\\\\\\\"
Alevice
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2007, 01:58:52 PM »

Don't dual-boot, just use a virtual machine, like virtualbox, qemu or vmware. Don't use MS VirtualPC, it blows.

skaldicpoet9
Level 10