Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411429 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 03:13:03 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogstheme:rain (10 day game)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: theme:rain (10 day game)  (Read 2443 times)
JamesGecko
Level 3

View Profile WWW
« on: September 16, 2009, 10:56:55 PM »

'Ello all!

At long last, I have been assigned the homework assignment of "make some sort of game type thing", with a catch... it must be complete by midnight on the 27th! Ten days to plot and scheme!

Clearly this merits some sort of topic so you can view my grand plans and horrendous failure!

First objective is to KISS. Complexity is apparently a big source of fail when combined with time limits. To this end, I'll limit myself to three objects.

Second objective is pretty. I'm no artist, but theft is the sincerest form of flattery! ...or something to that extent?
Graphical style: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tigsource/3382678778/ (Sorry Cactus!)
Music:

Third objective is to make something fun to play. Due to the limited time, I'm going to try to start with a bare bones set of game rules with an additional "oh, I actually have time to implement this now!" stuff which can be added on later.

Object number one: You. You are a box.
Object number two: A more different sort of box. Several of these suckers will move in the the edges of the screen and idly slide across it. You can touch them to destroy them and get points.
Object number three: Death! Every time you touch a box, four bullets appear at opposite edges of the screen and move toward the place where the box died at high velocity. When they hit the coords, they slow down. This will hopefully keep several bullets on the screen at once.

I may have possibly been subconsciously inspired by Xwung and Solar Wolf.