Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 12:37:52 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Game Maker For Beginners: Part IV
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
Print
Author Topic: Game Maker For Beginners: Part IV  (Read 110877 times)
Derek
Bastich
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« on: October 01, 2009, 12:25:51 AM »

Game Maker For Beginners: Part IV

Main Topics: Sprite Fonts, HUDs, Scripts

Level: Total newb to Game Maker (that has read the previous tutorials).  Suitable for programming nubs, also.

Abstract: We're making a simple, one-level side-scrolling shoot 'em up using Game Maker and GML.  In this fourth part, we're going to add a simple title screen with some text on it and add a HUD to the game.  We're also going to learn about scripts, which are player-created functions.

Introduction

Last time, we made the screen scroll and added stars to the background and other boring junk like that.  This time, we're dealing with some REALLY interesting stuff... TEXT.

Okay, text boxes, menus, user interfaces... these are really important aspects of a game.  The player might not spend much time thinking about them when they're done well, but they stick out like a sore thumb when they're done lazily.  Unfortunately, as a game developer you can spend a lot of time working on them.