Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411485 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 04:13:37 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralFinally Graduated! (a.k.a. role of university studies on game dev)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Finally Graduated! (a.k.a. role of university studies on game dev)  (Read 4956 times)
Slash - Santiago Zapata
The White Knight
Level 4

Java/Javascript Game Dev

View Profile WWW
« on: March 02, 2007, 10:01:48 PM »

So yes, after many years of trials, happiness and sadness, I finished university. I am a computer systems engineer Tongue

And in order for this topic not to seem a selfish babbling by some guy nobody cares about, I will raise the quintessential question: How useful is a CS degree for a game developer?

I guess some (most?) of you are graduated? how useful has that been? and if not, do you plan on studying something computer related in major education?

What about the difference of impact for indie and commercial development (I guess being an indie makes it irrelevant to have a degree in your back)

For starters, I've been making games since before entering college (ok, I never finished these, but I *was making them* Tongue), but I think lots of people gets into Computer Sciences just to have a chance on making their own games... If this turns out to be unnecesary I will warn those that are about to step this horrible mistake! :D
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 07:48:51 AM by Slashie » Logged

Dan MacDonald
The DMac
Level 1

Prisoner of the cause

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2007, 10:38:32 PM »

CSE degree is one of those things your glad you have when you realize that the games industry isn't going to support you and you family and you're going to have to get a real job with reasonable hours and good pay.  Shocked
PoV
Level 5