Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411474 Posts in 69369 Topics- by 58423 Members - Latest Member: antkind

April 23, 2024, 12:51:28 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Discussion about jumping physics (feat. cactus)
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Discussion about jumping physics (feat. cactus)  (Read 12059 times)
Lim-Dul
Level 1

The Necromancer

View Profile WWW
« on: January 07, 2008, 06:40:02 AM »

Hello everybody!
There was an interesting (in my opinion) discussion about jumping/movement physics in the comments section of the IndieGames Weblog. I'm only a failed game designer and gamer (albeit an experienced one!) but a couple of people showed up replying to my comments - no wonder, I was commenting on cactus' latest project Psychosomnium.
I found that the whole thing didn't turn in a flame-war, which is nice for a change and hence I think that it might be interesting to the wider public. Also, I'd like to hear YOUR views on jumping and moving in indie games. I find that it's an often neglected aspect of gameplay.
Making them good is an ungrateful job since most likely nobody will notice and praise e.g. your graphics instead (unless jumping is all you do in a particular game). Get them wrong, however, and suddenly everybody will start noticing and complaining although most likely few people will be able to pinpoint what exactly is wrong with your gameplay - "the controls are bad" is usually all you will hear from them.

Without further ado I'll copy&paste the whole discussion (editing out irrelevant parts) - this forum is a much nicer place to have a discussion - you can edit your posts etc. =)

So that you all know what we're talking about, this is the link to the game and the news item:

http://www.indiegames.com/blog/2008/01/psychosomnium.html

Quote from: Lim-Dul