Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 27, 2024, 07:58:35 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)2D Ortho Camera in OpenGL
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 2D Ortho Camera in OpenGL  (Read 7614 times)
raigan
Level 5

View Profile
« on: December 09, 2009, 09:09:53 AM »

I have a scene made up of a bunch of worldspace polygons, and I'd like to be able to pan/zoom my camera around the scene. Also in case you can't tell, I have very little experience with OpenGL Smiley

AFAICT, there are two ways to realize pan+zoom: using a non-identity GL_MODELVIEW matrix so that the scene is transformed relative to the camera, or using glOrtho() to change the view volume (i.e moving and scaling it around in the world).

My question is: what are the differences between the two approaches? Are there any best practices, strengths/weaknesses with either approach, etc? What is everyone else doing?

Sorry if this is a stupid question!
Gold Cray
Level 10

Gold Cray

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2009, 09:39:36 AM »

I don't know much about the inner working of openGL, but for some reason I feel like it's cheaper to call glTranslated() n times than it is to call glOrtho() n times. I think glOrtho is really meant more as a one-time thing to setup the view. That said, I have in the past switched between 2d and 3d each frame using gluPerspective and gluOrtho2D without taking any noticeable performance hit, so it might just be a matter of personal preference.
brog
Level 7

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2009, 09:48:47 AM »