Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411840 Posts in 69419 Topics- by 58464 Members - Latest Member: Riya21

May 31, 2024, 07:08:02 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeWhere should I go from here?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Where should I go from here?  (Read 3172 times)
Unicycles
Level 0

View Profile
« on: December 10, 2009, 01:05:50 AM »

Hey everyone, I just joined this forum as I hope to get back into game design and I thought involving myself with other programmers might give me the inspiration to keep going instead of giving up again.

Problem is...I'm Still quite new to the whole scene. I've used game maker on and off for a few years, that taught me the basics of programming but i feel like it isn't "real" programming, I did some lessons in c++ but can't recall too much right now. I also tested out Darkbasic but that didn't seem to suite my needs.

I'm interested in short "interactive art" styled games mostly in 2D. Possibly raycasting 3D styles down the track (i think that's what it's called).

So where should I start? I know there are a few programs out there but what one would be best suited to a semi-newbie like me?
ChevyRay
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2009, 01:11:34 AM »

I've used game maker on and off for a few years, that taught me the basics of programming but i feel like it isn't "real" programming...

Lose this mindset immediately and you'll do just fine Smiley

Welcome! Your username is awesome.
powly
Level 4

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2009, 09:56:56 AM »

Well, I went from a GML-like BASIC variant straight to C++, it didn't get overwhelmingly hard because I didn't push it too hard. Just learn it nice and slowly.
Zaphos
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2009, 02:10:21 PM »

This might get a better response in the technical forum ...