Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411525 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 06:24:32 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytesting"Dread", a top-down action / horror roguelike. Free Alpha
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: "Dread", a top-down action / horror roguelike. Free Alpha  (Read 5488 times)
Berick
Level 0

The Mad Scientist

View Profile WWW
« on: March 04, 2012, 11:29:32 AM »

Dread is a top-down action / horror game where you can only see what your character sees. This creates an intense atmosphere, as the player is always guessing what is waiting for them around the next corner.

Screenshot of v.1.3.5a

Old Version 1.3.3a screenshot

The game is currently in free Alpha stage, as I am a terrible artist and I'm using placeholders that I scrounged from free resources or put together myself. The engine itself is quite far along in development, and a lot of fun to play even with enemy sprites modified from RPG Maker 95.

I'm actually most proud of the included level editor, as the possibilities are nearly endless with it. The powerful trigger system it has means that entire gameplay style can change from Doom (which is what the included level is modeled after), to Alien Swarm, to Resident Evil depending on the designer's preference.

I created the Alpha Trailer above to help recruit artists, and it is working wonders so far. I have several talented artists interested in helping out, so the next few builds should start seeing significantly improved graphics.

You can download and play the current build (v1.3.5a) for free at the Dread Dev Blog
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 03:33:30 PM by Berick » Logged

There are no limits for those that see no limits
dEnamed
Level 4

Bored was AmnEn.

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 05:18:21 AM »