Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411603 Posts in 69388 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: gravitygat

May 08, 2024, 01:01:52 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Solid line-based physics collision detection : the right way to do it?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Solid line-based physics collision detection : the right way to do it?  (Read 2801 times)
Marchal_Mig12
Level 0

View Profile
« on: October 28, 2014, 04:54:07 PM »

Hi everyone,

Before I start, it is important to note that I am a novice to anything related to physics. I am, however, doing my best to learn it.

I have been playing around with line-based collision physics lately and have something pretty nice so far. Collisions are working great. One of the most important part of any engine thought is the optimisation. Since I do not want the engine to loop through hundreds of lines, I though about using some kind of grid where I could store which line is in which grid. Any object that can interact with a line then can loop through the lines that cross the few cells surrounding the object in order to detect collisions.

So far I think I have done a pretty good job doing it so far :

When the world is initialised, I create a grid with cell's width and height. Every time a line is added to the world, its id is added to the cells it crosses.

That allows the collision process to be much quicker since it only checks the collision with the line being in the cells near the player.

I am looking, however for better ways to process all this. So far the steps I am using :

1- Initialise the world through a 2d array (this grid then holds a 1d array)
2- Everytime a line is added to the world, I need to add its id to every cells it crosses.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bresenham%27s_line_algorithm <-- this alrgorithm could be used.