Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411508 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 08:33:15 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)HTML/Javascript game dev - How to include your files?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: HTML/Javascript game dev - How to include your files?  (Read 1142 times)
paulisere
Level 0

View Profile
« on: November 12, 2015, 02:58:29 AM »

Hi

I have been working on a HTML5/Javascript game, largely to improve my knowledge of the technologies.  I am a C++ programmer and so I have been writing my game to be object oriented (usually one class per .js file) and include unit tests etc.

I wondered how people manage their "includes" to put it in C++ terms.  I have found that I need to include the names of my script files in my .html file, but I now have around 50 lines of:
<script src=... ></script>
for all of the different classes that I have, which just doesn't seem right.  It would be nice to be able to say in my Javascript file which other JS files it depends on.

I don't know if this is possible, it would be great if someone could provide me with some pointers.

Paul

Polly
Level 6

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2015, 04:18:56 AM »

I wondered how people manage their "includes" to put it in C++ terms.

Most developers use a javascript "compiler" that generates a single optimized / minified javascript file from your multi-file javascript project ( for releases at least ).

It would be nice to be able to say in my Javascript file which other JS files it depends on.

You still got your C++ thinking cap on Wink
pelle
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2015, 04:21:29 AM »