Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411541 Posts in 69383 Topics- by 58442 Members - Latest Member: vicemask

May 03, 2024, 02:17:14 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsBonsai Worlds - a zen game/toy about nature and civilization
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Bonsai Worlds - a zen game/toy about nature and civilization  (Read 1995 times)
grama
Level 0

Oh, the humanity!

View Profile WWW
« on: June 07, 2015, 05:28:12 AM »

Hello everybody!

My name is Enric Llagostera, I'm a game maker and lecturer from Brazil, nice to meet you all. First post on the forum! Smiley

On 2012, I finished my masters thesis and started working on a game, Bonsai Worlds, to relax after that. I finished and released it on 2013. Here you can find the link to that version on GameJolt. It had a good reception and I enjoyed seeing what people thought of it. However, there were quite a lot of things in it I was unsatisfied with.

Recently, I rebooted the project, using Unity as my tool instead of Flash + Flixel. It has been fun to do it, but I'm one of those people that really needs dialogue and conversation in order to keep motivated. So, that's why I'm starting this devlog!

Enough of context, let's talk about the game.

---

What is Bonsai Worlds?

It is a zen game/toy about creating little worlds and caring for them, watching them change and making them grow. You control nature (wind, land, mountains). After a while, humans start populating your world and using the resources in it, and you can't control them. Their cities grow and expand and, if they exhaust resources, wither and die. Nature might carrie on and regenerate and there is no losing / winning right now.