Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411588 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58443 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 06, 2024, 09:49:58 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioCellulose learns to compose
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Cellulose learns to compose  (Read 2647 times)
Evan Balster
Level 10

I live in this head.

View Profile WWW
« on: March 31, 2011, 01:04:21 AM »

Okay.

I am a programmer who dabbles in pretty much every other area of game dev, but I'd like to develop a secondary skill to a competent level.  I've done some musical stuff in the past and I have a decent intuition for it, but I am by no means an experienced musicker.  My past experience is (in order) piano and synthesizer, loop-based mak song software, module editors (ModPlug and TurboFM Music Maker) and as of yesterday, Musagi.

I am officially resolving (like a New Years' resolution, but not) to build my musical skills and (should I keep it up) will log my progress here.  I'm making this now because I've made something of which I'm reasonably proud.

--

This week:  learning how to create harmonized arrangements of notes.  Have an incomplete experiment in TFM (not posted) with pretty harmonic melodies.  Read up on music theory, and was introduced to consonance and dissonance.  Decided last night to try out Musagi and completed a song tonight.  May revise it later.

Today (and yesterday) -- 4-6 hours of Musagi-foolery:  http://evanbalster.com/music/goodbye-friend.ogg

Previous work -- TFM/Genesis, not very good: http://evanbalster.com/music/laserback.ogg

Creativity births expression.  Curiosity births exploration.
Our work is as soil to these seeds; our art is what grows from them...

Wreath, SoundSelf, Infinite Blank, Cave Story+, <plaid/audio>
HDSanctum
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 01:29:28 AM »