Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411579 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58445 Members - Latest Member: Mansreign

May 05, 2024, 03:26:29 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioAsk a Composition Major
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Ask a Composition Major  (Read 3924 times)
soundofjw
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« on: September 24, 2009, 07:58:42 AM »

Hey everyone! I just started my school year at the College-Conservatory of Music (CCM). I am studying for my BM in Composition (one of two undergrads accepted this year) - and I'm learning a LOT of new stuff. Throughout the year, I'll post about what I'm doing on my blog: http://blog.jwmusic.org/tagged/CCM (CCM is the tag for these posts).

Anyway, I'd like to keep this thread open for you to ask me any questions you might have about anything in this regard. Obviously I've been doing composition for a while now, but this should give everyone an insight to some of the OTHER things that go on in this field, including (and not, of course, limited to) Score Reading, Orchestration, Timbre Studies, and of course theory.

Ask away (:

hi
hyperduck
Level 10

Music and Noises

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 08:09:09 AM »

Congrats and welcome to the world of BMus :D I'm in my final year myself, you're gonna love it. (I say this only because I do, but I really hope you find the same joy in studying through this course)

Also this is a great idea, and very generous of your time! Kudos to you for doing so Smiley

P.S. Actually, i just realised you're doing a BMus in Composition alone! That's highly impressive work my friend! I am doing a BMus in Jazz, Contemporary and Popular Music, we do have a major composition module but I'm fairly positive yours covers a lot more ground. Good luck!

Mipe
Level 10

Migrating to imagination.

View Profile