Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411595 Posts in 69386 Topics- by 58444 Members - Latest Member: FightingFoxGame

May 07, 2024, 03:01:45 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopA game from space. Unexperienced spriter in desperate need for feedback!
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: A game from space. Unexperienced spriter in desperate need for feedback!  (Read 2550 times)
njm1992
Level 0

Aaaaargh!

View Profile
« on: June 07, 2011, 02:21:44 AM »

Hi, I've recently begun work on my first platforming game, and I decided that now was the time to start upgrading my simplistic prototype graphics with a few more details.

But unfortunately I'm not very good at pixel art (or art in general, I suppose).

So any guidance, feedback or C+C (Constructive Criticism?) would be greatly appreciated. Smiley

Right now I'm working on this little space man (intentional space) AKA the main character.
(I'll worry about animations a little later.)

Old:

vs.

New:

Fire away! Wink

edit:
A space pirate:

edit 2:
Images fixed
« Last Edit: June 07, 2011, 07:33:14 AM by njm1992 » Logged
LDuncan
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2011, 07:27:29 AM »

I'm not very good at pixel art myself, so take this with a grain of salt. Also, the first four images seem to have the wrong URL so I can't see them.

I'll comment on the pirate though. I like him--I think you've done pretty well. There are a number of 2x2 pixel blocks though, and it kind of lowers the perceived resolution of the sprite. I don't know much about this though so for this it might be unavoidable with the style you're going for.