Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411658 Posts in 69395 Topics- by 58451 Members - Latest Member: Monkey Nuts

May 15, 2024, 10:48:52 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallYawma - Distribution on Social Networks
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Yawma - Distribution on Social Networks  (Read 3592 times)
Scotma
Level 0

Yawma Games Director

View Profile WWW
« on: September 19, 2010, 11:56:46 PM »

I'm hoping this isn't considered "advertising" in the bad sense of the word, since it seems so relevant to a lot of the discussion here. I'm going to talk about a specific distribution platform as an employee of the company. If I'm off base for doing so, let me know. Smiley The goal is to lay out the features of a new distribution platform and open up the discussion so any questions can get answered. I'm an indie dev myself and love it when people are real with me, so I will do the same here.

As an introduction, Yawma is a fairly new digital distribution platform built specifically to share/discover independent games and music with friends via Facebook. It's a platform made for indies, by indies... and as such addresses a lot of problems we've all run into when trying to sell or market our stuff. Let me go over the key features.

Indies only!
DRM Free Content
Tie in with Social Networks (currently Facebook, but Twitter soon to follow)
Profit Sharing for those who introduce content to friends
Non-Exclusive Distribution
50% of Profits to Developers (25% to Profit Sharing - 25% to Yawma)
"Pay What You Want" Pricing Model Option
Support for Downloadable PC, Mac (and soon Linux) Games.