Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411640 Posts in 69394 Topics- by 58449 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 14, 2024, 10:19:03 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignImportance of Enemy Design
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Importance of Enemy Design  (Read 1779 times)
Kren
Level 1

View Profile
« on: October 23, 2010, 09:03:32 PM »

Yeah, I have been wondering how important enemy design is for some people ( of course as long as the game contains enemies )for example, what patterns do you use? how do you design how they look? what colors do you use and why? and how important enemies design is for you and your game?

For me enemy design is really important perhaps one of the most important aspects of the game itself, If I play a game with similar enemies but with different patterns I get easily bored, for example Bioshock, I started playing it a month ago, and gor pretty far I think, but I gor bored easily, all the enemies are humans, and it is really hard to differentiate between them color wise they are nearly the same D; making it really monotonous and boring atleast for me. I like to make enemies with different shape and try to make different color so it's easier to recognize that it's a new enemy, pattern wise. Most important there is always the easiest enemy, the one that you kill with one hit, ( for example gombat) I tend to make this enemy or atleast try to make him unique and distinctive since it is the enemy that the player will see the most.

So what do you do to make your enemies be different and unique?
ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2010, 09:07:19 PM »