Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 27, 2024, 11:06:31 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessFrom amauter to self-employed indie
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: From amauter to self-employed indie  (Read 4630 times)
True Valhalla
« on: August 10, 2012, 09:28:44 PM »

Hey everyone. This morning I wrote an article called "Breaking Bad Indie Habits". It kind of details some of the changes I had to make during my transition from a hobbyist developer to a self-employed full-time indie.

I'm pretty new to blogging, and spent around 4 hours on the article.

Would anyone be able to provide feedback/opinion/critique?

The link (bitly for click metrics): http://bit.ly/INdiE
Or: http://www.truevalhalla.com/blog/?p=284

Thanks, and I hope it's a decent read.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2012, 10:58:54 PM by True Valhalla » Logged
James Coote
Level 1

Spoon Thumb

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2012, 02:08:53 AM »

Well presented and split up into reasonable sized sections, with pictures to visually break up the wall of text. Also has hyperlinks so people can follow what you reference if they wish. Not that I'm an expert on writing blogs myself Tongue

You have to extend the disciplined routine a step further than you suggest I think.

Although I currently work 8 hours a day, starting at 9am, I find sometimes I lose whole days. Like someone will say "Oh, I'm in London on Wednesday, and I'm heading to the art gallery. Want to come?" And that's bye bye Wednesday. And having a whole day's break every two or three days means I'm less productive than if I work 5 days, then take the next two off.

Crystalline Green - Android Games Developers
True Valhalla
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 04:16:29 AM »